Go back Print version

Communique of the Netherlands-Slovakia-Malta Presidency Trio

05. 11. 2015

Finance Ministers Mr. Dijsselbloem, Mr. Kazimir, Mr.Scicluna
The finance ministers of Netherlands, Slovakia and Malta met in Bratislava on Thursday, 5th of November 2015 in light of their upcoming presidency trio in the Council of the EU, to be held from January 2016 till June 2017. The ministers exchanged views on policy and political priorities of their respective presidencies and of the presidency trio as a whole.

An agreement was reached on the need to continue the work on the banking union with the view to enhancing stability of the EU banking sector and on developing the capital markets union in order to boost investment and growth in the EU. The ministers discussed ways to improve the economic and fiscal governance of the EMU with the focus on better implementation of fiscal and structural policies and on macroeconomic stability in the EU. The presidency trio also agreed that fight against tax avoidance and tax evasion will remain one of the important policy objectives of the upcoming presidency trio. Work will be done to improve transparancyand predictibility of the EU budget process. Particular attention will also be given to full implementation of all three pillars of the Investment Plan for Europe.

The ministers will continue their close working relations and update each other informally in margins of future meetings of the ECOFIN Council about their preparations for the presidency of the Council of the EU.
In Bratislava
5th November 2015

Press Department
Ministry of finance of Slovak republic