Council of Europe Development Bank - CEB

Council of Europe Development Bank – CEB

Formerly known as the Council of Europe Social Development Fund, on 1 November 1999 the Bank changed its name to Council of Europe Development Bank – CEB (, set up in 1956. The CEB originates from a „Partial Agreement“ of member states of the Council of Europe: 41 of the 47 States that comprise the Council of Europe are members of the Bank. The CEB is a multilateral development bank placed under the supreme authority of the Council of Europe. It nevertheles has its own full legal status and financial autonomy.

The CEB´s headquarters are in Paris. 

The CEB's fields of action, as defined in its Articles of Agreement and Resolution 1495 (2006) of the Administrative Council, are structured as follows:

·  Strengthening social integration (Aid to refugees, migrants and displaced populations; Social housing for low-income persons; Creation and preservation of viable jobs; Improving living conditions in urban and rural areas; Infrastructure of administrative and judicial public services)

·  Managing the environment (Natural or ecological disasters; Protection of the environment; Protection and rehabilitation of the historic and cultural heritage)

·  Developing human capital (Education and vocational training; Health)


The CEB´s Bodies

Under Article VIII of the Articles of Agreement, the CEB is organised, administered and controlled by the following organs:
the Governing Board,
the Administrative Council,
the Governor,
the Auditing Board.  

The Slovak Republic and the CEB

The Slovak Republic has became a member of the CEB since 22 December 1998, in accordance with the Governmental Resolution of the Slovak Republic No. 865 of 2 December 1998. 

The Slovak Republic is represented at the regular meetings of the Governing Board of the CEB, whose member is the Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Permanent Representation of the Slovak Republic to the Council of Europe, Strasbourg; and the Administrative Council of the CEB, whose member is Mr Peter Pellegrini, State Secretary of the Ministry of Finance of the Slovak Republic. 

Country Manager for the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic at the CEB is Mr Ján Matuška.


Council of Europe Development Bank

55, Aveneu Kléber
FR - 75116 Paris Cedex 16

Tel.: 0033 1 4755 5500
Fax: 0033 1 4755 0338