Nordic Investment Bank - NIB

The Nordic Investment Bank - NIB

The Nordic Investment Bank - NIB ( is a multilateral financial institution established pursuant to the Agreement dated 4 December 1975 between Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, which was superseded by the Agreement of 23 October 1998 and that was replaced by the Agreement of 11 February 2004.

Since 1 January 2005 the NIB has 8 Member Countries: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden.

The NIB´s headquarters are in Helsinki. The NIB has other offices in Copenhagen, Oslo, Reykjavik and Stockholm, as well as a representative office in Singapore. The NIB's official languages are English and Swedish.

The Nordic Finance Group consists of four multilateral financial institutions located in the same building in Helsinki. The institutions within the Group are the Nordic Investment Bank (NIB), the Nordic Development Fund (NDF), the Nordic Environment Finance Corporation (NEFCO) and the Nordic Project Fund (Nopef).

NIB provides long-term complementary financing to projects that strengthen competitiveness and enhance the environment (

The NIB finances projects in the Member Countries and in about 40 other countries. NIB´s lending outside the Member Countries goes foremost to: Asia, Africa and the Middle East, Latin America, and Central and Eastern Europe, including Russia.


The NIB´s Governing bodies

The Organisation in charge of the activities of the NIB consist of the Board of Govenors, Board of Directors, Control Committee and Management Committee.

The President and CEO from 1 April 2012 is Mr Henrik Normann (Denmark).


The Slovak Republic and the NIB

The Government of the Slovak Republic and the NIB signed „the Framework Agreement between the Government of the Slovak Republic and the Nordic Investment Bank on financial co-operation“ on 1 June 2001 in Helsinki.



Nordic Investment Bank

Fabianinkatu 34
P.O. Box 249
FI - 00171 Helsinki
Tel.: +358 10 618 001
Fax: +358 10 618 0725